Travel:
Our arrival into Anchorage was a little delayed this morning due to strong winds on the flight up, so our 10:58 arrival was pushed back to about 12:10, and then Zhenya's 11:36 arrival was pushed back to 12:44, and the baggage check was really slow. So, by the time we got our bags and were ready to leave the Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport, it was about 1:30. On New Years. Ever heard of a worse time to try to get a cab? I sure haven't. We rolled into Gangl's place at about 2:30 this morning, and got to sleep at about 3:00. Which, considering Alaska time, means I was up for nearly 24 hours, not the best race prep. Today:
We spent quite some time trying to find a grocery store, skied in the cold, and are now, lazing around watching Rocky on Gangl's 7 feet across flat screen TV. Sweet.
Some thoughts:
It's f-in cold here, but not as bad as Fairbanks. The high for the next 5 days in Fairbanks, THE HIGH, is thirty three degrees BELOW zero. Fahrenheit. Holy crap. Willie, keep it in your pants bud, or it might fall.
Even without the Fairbanks cold here, we are still in danger of not being able to race due to the temp. On saturday, when we are supposed to have our race, the predicted high is -7F, which is 3 degrees colder than the FIS rules, so we'll see what happens there. I must say, having skied at about 0 today, I'm not sure how much I want to ski at 07, damn. On the upside, my lungs felt very good today, and I think that they are handling the cold here much better than at 8000 feet and dry.
Until tomorrow
Joe
No comments:
Post a Comment