Thursday, January 08, 2009

Long Cold Day

Ooofda, I"m going to keep this short because it's late and I'm tired, today it was theoretically cold enough to race, although with a small increase in temperature (I think it was maybe -4F, maybe), there was also an increase in the one thing we, as Wyoming boys, missed. Wind. About 20mph of it, gusting to about 30. F-ing cold. My nose was turning white just standing there. But we raced. Johnny and I not so well, I in around 105th out of 118 and John in 117 out of 118. Zhenya had a much better day, finishing 59th and qualifying for the U23/juniors heats. They were chaos, damn cold, dark (did I mention the prologue started at 2:00 and the heats started at 4:00?), and quick. Zhenya kicked ass in the quarters and easily finished third to qualify for the semis. Then about ten minutes later his quarter started, which did not go well, with him getting losing contact in the first half and then just chilling in the second half to conserve energy for the B final. 4 minutes later they started the B final. I'm not kidding, he hadn't even gotten his coat on by the time they started. In the B final, he went really well until about half way, and then the afternoon caught up with him, and he finished last in the heat. After that, he cooled down, I went to warm up in the Chalet, and we had some dinner and came home. Tired. and cold. Tomorrow is scheduled as a 10K ind start classic race with just the RMISA, no open field. However, the good warm forecast for the weekend has left us. It is again supposed to be a high temperature of -2F, which means we will AGAIN be waiting and postponing, and waiting, and postponing, etc. DAMNIT. 

No comments:

Post a Comment