Tuesday, October 07, 2008

Night classes suck

Ugg. Usually I'm in bed before nine, but thanks to my mandatory Tuesday night hell of class from 7-9, I'm about an hour behind. Other than that class though, today was a good day. I woke at 6 as usual, took my time getting out the door because I had enough time today, and did a nice specific strength/intensity workout. 

I double poled to the hill just east of 30th and Reynolds, turns out it is just about a minute long, which was exactly what I wanted. I did three sets of 5X1 hard up this hill, with only the recovery of coming down, plus a little more time and a drink in between sets. The first set was double pole. This went pretty well considering I've been kinda slacking on my double pole, which isnt good. However, I was still manage 4 very good quality intervals, and the last one was still pretty good, I just bogged down on the steepest part of the hill a little. The second set was double pole kick. This is usually my weakness, but thanks to my newly strong back, I felt better double pole kicking today than I've ever felt in my life, hoorah. I felt amazingly strong on the last set as well, which was just striding up it technically well with a lot of power. 

After my intervals were finished, I took a slightly longer way home and ended up with a total workout of 1:15. I'm going to try to add in a little more warmup and cool down inn the future, but I think this workout may become a staple of my routine, I felt it helped me a lot mentally, and definitely makes me work technique and strength a lot. 

Up for the next couple days is a track workout of 400m repeats tomorrow, and then either a long slow skate or V2 intervals thursday morning, depending on how I feel after the track. 

Chao


No comments:

Post a Comment