I'm hoping that some of the athletes will get on and add to this topic but I thought I'd start.
We did our first race Sunday in Frisco, CO. It was great! All the college teams from this area, CU, DU, WSC, USAFA and us were all there. A great race for so early in the year.
Although we are still waiting for results the race was great fun and went really well. No one missed their start, no one forgot to bring their skis, poles or boots, no one was in tears at the end of the race! I think most of the team had a great time, with the possible exception of Fitz who was sick and didn't tell anyone and Adam who took the wrong turn.
The snow in Breck was amazing! I don't think anyone wanted to come home. I mean we have good snow and we can ski but nothing like the feet they had in Frisco!
We're extremely proud of the twins who stepped up and showed the younger skiers the culture of racing. What to do with their skis, when to eat and drink, when to change clothes, how to warm-up... all th most important parts of racing. Everyone can race fast once the race starts but getting all the other stuff together is extremely important! This is the kind of mentoring and help that coaches just don't have time to do at a race. Thanks girls!
I posted the pictures I have from the race on the photo album, enjoy.
The results are posted! http://www.uwyo.edu/ski/racing.html
No comments:
Post a Comment