The semester started this week so we have been busy with school as well as preparing for our next races. It’s a real pain being back in classes now after focusing completely on skiing for the last five weeks where we got to briefly live like professional athletes…
When organizers are planning their race courses they often
will attempt to make the best course possible out of the existing trails. These
trails often vary in their difficulty, so organizers have to come up with an
appropriate course that will meet FIS/USSA standards. This is why we often do
lots of laps. At Steamboat, however, organizers do not have to worry about coming up with
a racecourse.
Steamboat has a 5km course that is FIS homologated, and obviously
was created for the sole purpose of hosting races, as opposed to having pleasant afternoon skis with your grandmother in mind. In fact, this 5k trail was
cut into the hillside originally to host world class Nordic combined events,
with its prime location adjacent to the jumps. Because the trails were built to
be a race course, they are quite difficult, and their geographic location
contributes to the challenge as well. Because the trails are built on a hillside, there is very little flat so you are always going up or down.
![]() |
| The trail. You can see the big hairpin ahead, which is also part of the race course |
The actual race course sends you out the stadium, around a
hairpin and almost immediately up a monster climb. It is extremely steep for
the lower half, but it continues to be steep all the way to the top, which is a
long ways up. Then it continues along some undulating terrain, down a hill, up
and down another, and finally an extremely long, gradual up. This is at the 3k
mark. From there the next 2k are all on one big roaring downhill back to the
stadium. It’s a weird course because when you see each marker for another kilometer
gone by, you ask yourself how it has taken so long to ski 1k, 2k, 3k. Then you
do the last 2k in about three minutes. We did the same course both days, two
laps the first day and four the second.
It was another 10k and 20k for the men this weekend, and in
the same technique as the previous races as well. The 10k interval start skate
was held simultaneously with the RMN Junior National qualifier, so I was
surrounded by juniors on both sides. I was a little perturbed by this because I
would much rather be surrounded by the other collegiate athletes so I would
have better rides to catch, but what can you do?
Conditions for the race Saturday were great. Temperatures
were in the low teens, which is fine with me, and there was a hard snow pack. This
was the first day of the season that I’ve gone with my cold weather skis, my
old Atomic WC hard track, over my warm skis, Fischer CarbonLite plus. The
Atomics are significantly older and this is only the second time since I got
the Fischers that I’ve used the Atomics. The Fischers usually run faster
regardless of the weather, but I keep the Atomics around for days like these.
![]() |
| The town below us, with the resort in the background |
When I hit the course I quickly caught up to the skiers in
front of me. I took the first climb conservatively knowing that it would be
futile to hammer that huge climb so early. But by the time I reached the top I was
really suffering. I continued to suffer very hard through the rest of the race.
I think I was not totally healthy, and I’m sure that contributed. Though I kept
passing skiers I really didn’t feel so good, even though my first split had me
in 20th in the college field. As the race went on it was nothing but pain. Now ski races always hurt, but I felt like I was about to die the
entire race. Normally you shouldn’t be feeling like that until later in
the race.
My splits later had me dropping places, and I ended a disappointing
28th in the college field. Sam was the only other male to race from our team, and
he had a killer day, finishing 25th, 19 seconds ahead of me. We beat
a handful of the NCAA athletes, which is a positive. Sickness has wrecked our
team, and besides the two of us, only Sierra, Elise, and Meghan made it to the
start line.
Day two was the mass start 20k classic. I was looking to
improve on my poor result from the 20k in Bozeman. We had great conditions again,
a hard packed trail and temperatures in the low twenties. This made waxing a
breeze. I went sticky on the day because there was so much climbing. Because
the first 3k are mostly climbing, and we spent probably 80% or more of the race
on the first 3k time wise, the right call was sticky. The little bit of time
you lose on the downhill from the extra wax will be more than compensated on the front part of the
course.
The pack hammered the first part, but I was able to keep up
without trouble. When the trails got steeper the pack tended to slow way down,
but it would accelerate over the tops ferociously. I skied at the back of the
pack but the pace was comfortable for me.
At the last little up before the big downhill I lost
connection just a little bit. I knew I was ahead of a few skiers, namely two
guys who’d broken poles and lost a lot of time. One of them caught me and I skied
with him and another guy for a while but eventually they dropped me on the
second lap. The other broken pole guy caught me, and same thing. I skied behind
him for a while before getting dropped. On the third lap I saw an MSU skier ahead,
Noah Anderson, and I figured I could get him. There was a UAA guy, Marcus
Dueling, even further ahead that I was hoping to get too.
![]() |
| Christi got this shot of me on the last lap |
I’m not sure how I ended up so far behind relatively early,
after I had skied so comfortably with the pack on the first lap. I think I was
worried I would blow up like I did in Bozeman so maybe I was holding back
because of that. Whatever happened, I was basically on an island. I was
ahead of Sam, who was the next behind me, and behind the guys I had been skiing
with. Fortunately on this course you can see a long ways ahead of you at a lot
of sections. For instance, in the stadium you do this weird out-and-back, so I was
seeing the front guys go out as I was coming in, so I knew that even though I was
behind I wasn’t that far behind, and that
I was doing a lot better than last time.
I eventually caught and passed Anderson, and I had my sights
set on Dueling. As the race progressed, I wasn’t really gaining any ground. I
hit the last lap with a significant deficit to him, but when someone is in
eyesight you always believe you can catch them. I raised the pace a little at
the start of the lap but still didn’t really gain. I was isolated but I now had
him to push me at least. The gap stayed the same basically all the way around, and
towards the end I think I gave up because I know he gained time on the later
part of the course. So I didn’t get him.
I finished 26th, which is two places better than
Saturday. However, to be honest this is probably because so many people DNS.
Day one had 35 college skiers and day two only had 28. That being said, I felt
much better on the second day, so that is a positive to take away from the
weekend. I felt stronger and less sick.
Results from the race can be found here.
Next week we have our first USCSA qualifier, in Mesa. This
will be the first race of the season that the Competitive Team will be
traveling to, so our numbers should be boosted considerably from this week! It
should be a great weekend for us after so many punishing races in a row.



No comments:
Post a Comment