Because this blog sometimes goes
weeks at a time without a post and because I really enjoyed blogging my races
in Slovakia last year I have decided to take it upon myself to blog all my
races this year.
This weekend marks my first two
races of the season as I skipped the Holiday Hurrah two weeks ago. We are in
Crested Butte, CO competing in Rocky Mountain Nordic’s Junior Nationals
Qualifiers (not to be confused with Rocky Mountain Conference, our USCSA
division, or Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association, our NCAA
division). However, some of our friends in the RMISA from CU, DU, and New
Mexico came down for the weekend as well, so that was exciting for us.
Otherwise the field is mainly juniors in Colorado trying to qualify for Junior
Nationals. The Colorado guys are pretty fast though, so we expected some good
competition.
![]() |
| The Butte |
This morning was a sprint race.
Sprints kick off with everyone skiing an individual start doing one lap around
the 1.3ish km loop. The top 30 fastest skiers then go into a bracket. Each heat
in the bracket has six skiers, and in the first round the top two skiers in
each heat move on to the semifinals, as well as two other skiers called “lucky
losers.” These are determined either by fastest quarterfinal times or fastest
qualifier times. In the semis the top three in each heat race the “A Final” and
the next three in each heat race the “B Final.” The A Final determines 1-6
place and the B Final 7-12.
The course today was a solid sprint
course but not a super difficult one. The start is about 200m of flat with a
hard left pretty quick, then up a short but steep hill, a quick downhill
followed by a longer and less steep hill, a long downhill, and then the last
100 or so meters is a flat finish.
I started the day with bib 18,
meaning I was seeded as the 18th fastest skier in the field of 45.
This gave me some confidence going into the race because I feel like my USSA
points, which determine seeding, tend to lowball me in seeding. So my goal
today was to make it through the quarterfinals and into the semis.
I had a good qualifier. I could
tell by the time the guy in front of me hit the first climb that I was gaining
on him and I pulled pretty close by the top of the second climb. By the
finishing lanes I had almost caught him and I just passed him before the finish
line. We start at 15 second intervals and 15 seconds is a big margin in a
sprint, so I figured I was in the bracket.
For the men, Taylor ended up
qualifying in 10th, me less than a second back from him in 12th,
Ben in 13th just a few tenths of a second behind me, and Sindre just
barely out of the bracket. It was a good showing from us, and we were right
there with the NCAA guys. That’s a really good sign going into the season.
Normally in a sprint you are given new bibs after the qualifier based on where you finished. So the fastest qualifier gets bib 1, etc. Today we just hung onto our bibs, I guess for tomorrow, and were given paper bibs instead. Nobody likes paper bibs but we got by.
Normally in a sprint you are given new bibs after the qualifier based on where you finished. So the fastest qualifier gets bib 1, etc. Today we just hung onto our bibs, I guess for tomorrow, and were given paper bibs instead. Nobody likes paper bibs but we got by.
I was put in the fourth
quarterfinal. Generally earlier heats are advantageous because you get a little
more rest before the semis, so I was hoping to get into one of the early semis.
But you don’t get to pick. I ended up in a heat with bib 2, a Steamboat guy,
and bib 9, a New Mexico guy. 2 qualified a little ways in front of me but 9 was
only about a second, so I figured I had a real good shot at getting in the top
two for the guaranteed semi slot. A last second change from time determining
lucky loser to bib number (based on qualifier time) meant a little change in
strategy. When the gun went off I quickly moved into third. At the first climb I
felt strong enough to move to the front but wasn’t able to get there because I was
blocked off. I tried to make a move on the downhill but got cut off. Finally on
the second climb I was able to move around the New Mexico guy into second but still
couldn’t move my way to first. It was a little frustrating because I felt
strong enough to take the lead but couldn’t get around. On the big downhill the
UNM guy drafted me all the way down and then shot around me. Realizing second
was now out of reach I coasted in to save energy. The three of us had dropped
the rest of the heat. I now could only wait and pray that I got the lucky
loser.
![]() |
| In second place on the second climb |
Ben got second in his heat for the
guaranteed spot, while Taylor had a mishap at his start and unfortunately didn’t
make it past the quarters.
It took them a while to get the
semi bracket up so I had to just continue as if I made it so I would be
prepared. In sprints you usually get around an hour and a half after your
qualifier but once it gets to the heats they start one every five minutes and
go more or less straight from the quarters to the semis to the finals. So you
get a ton of time from the qualifier to the quarters but hardly any in between
heats. In between heats I just try to
stay moving and throw in a few really short pickups.
I ended up getting the second lucky
loser, so I was moving on. The semi looked to be much tougher competition than
the quarter was. Everyone was a college racer. When we started I quickly found
myself in last. The group strung out, but I never lost contact. I got into
fifth on the first climb but couldn’t get up to fourth. As soon as I realized I
wasn’t getting top three I shut it off to save energy for the B Final. I got
passed in the straight but didn’t fight for it because it really didn’t matter.
Both Ben and I raced the B Final.
As soon as the gun went off Ben shot to the front, while I was in fifth. Going
up the first climb the order stayed basically the same. I definitely wasn’t feeling
the same explosiveness I felt earlier on the climbs, so I was just trying to
hang on. But on the second climb I moved to fourth. Ben was still leading. We
rounded the corner and headed down the hill, with Ben and second and third in a
tight bunch, and me right behind. I gapped the two behind me. The two guys in
front went around Ben in the finishing lanes, and I was catching him. I just
about pulled even with him in the end and we lunged for the line, and I think
he beat me by about an inch.
It was a good day for us. Ben and I
got ninth and tenth in a pretty stong field. I am really happy with where my fitness
is right now, and sprinting really is not my forte so it was fun to be skiing
in the heats with some really fast skiers.
Tomorrow we ski a 5k classic mass
start. Athletes my age rarely ski 5k’s, and they are much too short for my
liking. But a 5k is better for me than a sprint!



No comments:
Post a Comment